Changes approved for parliamentary constituencies and ward boundaries


Changes have been made to the electoral ward boundaries in Wokingham borough, with two new constituencies. 

Important changes to the parliamentary constituencies and ward boundaries in Wokingham Borough have been made following independent reviews.

There will be all-out borough elections in May 2024, with all 54 seats up for contention on Wokingham Borough Council.

Ward boundaries

Following a review by the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE), changes have been made to the electoral ward boundaries in the borough. The LGBCE began this process in August 2022 and held two rounds of consultation to gauge public opinion on its recommendations. The final proposal was approved by Parliament in November.

The review was conducted to ensure councillors represent roughly the same number of electors and that ward arrangements will help the council work effectively. The number of councillors will remain at 54 but there will now be 18 wards, represented by three members each, which are as follows:

  • Barkham & Arborfield
  • Bulmershe & Coronation
  • Emmbrook
  • Evendons
  • Finchampstead
  • Hawkedon
  • Hillside
  • Loddon
  • Maiden Erlegh & Whitegates
  • Norreys
  • Shinfield
  • South Lake
  • Spencers Wood & Swallowfield
  • Thames
  • Twyford, Ruscombe & Hurst
  • Winnersh
  • Wescott
  • Wokingham Without

Both the new and current boundaries can be viewed online, while full details of the LGBCE review are available on the commission website.

Check your poll card

This means that some residents will be voting in a different ward to the one in which they last cast their vote. It is therefore important to read your poll card carefully when it arrives in April, as it will tell you which polling station you can vote at. Any new polling stations will be confirmed at the end of January.

Parliamentary constituencies

In addition to the ward boundary changes, there are also new parliamentary constituency boundaries to elect Members of Parliament.

There are now two constituencies in Wokingham Borough which are:

  • Wokingham
  • Earley and Woodley

The Wokingham and the new Earley and Woodley constituency are administered by Wokingham Borough Council.

This change came because of a different review, which was carried out by the Boundary Commission for England.

Andrew Moulton, returning officer at Wokingham Borough Council, said: “Our message to residents is to get ready for this year’s elections as soon as possible. There are significant changes being introduced to elections and the voting process, but by planning ahead you can cast your vote with confidence in May. Remember to read your polling card carefully when it arrives, as this will tell you where to vote and remind you to bring photo ID.”

To administer the election, the council is currently reviewing the polling places used. A four-week consultation was held on proposed changes to polling places and any changes will be confirmed by Council this month.

What you can do now

With all of these changes in mind, it is important to ensure you are prepared and able to cast your vote in May. Make sure you are registered to vote by midnight on Tuesday 16 April and remember to bring suitable photo ID with you to the polling station. A list of accepted forms of ID is available on the Electoral Commission’s website.

If you do not have suitable ID, you can apply for a free Voter Authority Certificate online. Those residents wishing to vote by post or proxy in May can also apply online.

In May 2024, there is also a Police and Crime Commissioner election for Thames Valley, with the possibility of parish council elections if there are any contested seats. Residents should not only be prepared for the elections in May, but also the next general election. Although a date for the next election has not yet been announced, it must be held by 28 January 2025, although it could be called sooner.

Share the Post:
Skip to content